The God Delusion

05Jul07

Picked it up at Crossword last weekend. A couple of days back a colleague noticed the book in my hand and out of that intestine-wobbling curiosity that lies bundled inside every avid reader, he grabbed it and read the title. ‘Oh Man, how can you call it like this. This is ridiculous, this terming it a delusion’, he squabbled nervously and meekly handed the book back to me.

He had written off the book even before trying to know what is written in it. And this is precisely what Richard Dawkins calls as delusion in the book.

The metaphorical or pantheistic God… is light years away from the interventionist, miracle-wreaking, thought-reading, sin-punishing, prayer answering God of the Bible, of priests, mullahs and rabbis, and of ordinary language.

And also quotes the ever-effervescent Douglas Adams, on how humans are being discouraged from questioning any form of religious dogmatism.

Here’s an idea or a notion that you’re not allowed to say anything bad about; you’re just not. Why not? – because you’re not!

I’m still reading the book, and for all I can say – I’m enjoying it. As Jax noted in his review,

Irrespective of your religious belief, I think this is a great stimulating book that every person ought to read. I absolutely loved it.

Agree completely. If one thinks it blasphemy to open his mind to such objective and true thoughts as propounded in the book, then he’s exactly the person Dawkins is targeting – the one hallucinating with the God delusion.

13 Responses to “The God Delusion”

  1. 1 Jax

    You are the third person who seemed to have picked up the book after my recommendation. ;-)

  2. 2 Amrita

    I’ll look for it this week.

  3. Well I might have to check out the book myself.

    I still don’t understand why people air the religious preference they have chosen. It only causes problems sooner or later.

    I say, “Keep it all personal and kneel on your own time.”

  4. Tremendous things here. I’m very satisfied to see ykur article.
    Thanks so much and I am having a look ahead to contact you.

    Will you please drop me a mail?

  5. Hi everyone, it’s my first go to see at this site, and article is actually fruitful
    designed for me, keep up posting these types of articles.


  1. 1 freedom mentor
  2. 2 arthur falcone
  3. 3 South Austin iPhone Repair
  4. 4 saleh stevens
  5. 5 freedom mentor reviews
  6. 6 Dr Sherri Worth
  7. 7 TIE Institute
  8. 8 Brandon Colker

Leave a Reply

