A.R. Rahman’s Pray For Me Brother

12Mar07

One piece of memory that has lingered in me from my visit to New York City a few months earlier is a middle aged woman who sat under a skyscraper in a shady corner of Times Square clutching a tiny board in her weak hand, which read – I lost my job. I have two kids. I don’t have anyone else. Please help me.

If there is one language common across the world it’s the language of suffering and tears – be it a remote village in Somalia or a hip center of America. That’s one reason why Bharatbala, the producer of this music video, chose to shoot Pray For Me Brother amidst the skyscrapers of Los Angeles, rather than a war ravaged African village.

A.R. Rahman’s Pray For Me Brother is an initiative by the A.R. Rahman Foundation to collect funds for the UN Millennium Development Program aimed at eradicating poverty by the year 2015. Rahman spins his magic once again with a music and lyrics that is sure to have a global appeal. Add the video to the song, and you get a real treat to your soul – all for a noble cause. As is always the case with Rahman, the music grows on you.

The video for the song has been shot in Los Angeles, with towering skyscrapers at one side showing the great economic strides the world has made and beggars taking street corners on the other – symbolizing the idea that suffering is universal, irrespective of which part of the world you live in.

The video is filled with symbolism and emotions. Human suffering has no color. And it is only pertinent that the entire video symbolizing human suffering be shot in Black and White. Los Angeles being the location, the video has a Krumper dancing through the rap part of the song. Krumping is a form of dance that originated in the African-American community of South Central Los Angeles – a rather sinister and aggressive dance form, intended as an expression of anger or a release of pent-up emotion through violent, exaggerated, and dramatic moves. (Definition Source: Wikipedia.)

The music has a mix of traditional western and rap. And the very composition is intended at reaching out to a global audience, the universal message being – “Are you searching for a reason to be kind…” and binding this message with another universal emotion of “Prayer”. Rahman’s melancholic voice and Blaaze’s rap couldn’t have merged better. To enable access to the video across all media including mobiles and PDAs, the entire video has been shot in Vertical-Cinemascope, rather than the usual Horizontal picture. At times it is a pain to your eyes watching a vertical video, given that most of the audience would actually be watching it on television, rather than their mobile phones.

The DVD contains the song “Pray For Me Brother” and “The Making of Pray For Me Brother” featuring A.R. Rahman, Bharatbala and Blaaze taking us through the conceptualization of the album, purpose and their experiences while making the music and shooting the video. Given the non-commercial nature of the album and the cause behind it, it is a must-have for anyone who appreciates good music.

27 Responses to “A.R. Rahman’s Pray For Me Brother

  1. 1 Jax

    Hmm… I wanted to write a review.. I guess you beat me to it :-(

  2. will try this one.

  3. i’ve seen the video a few weeks back actually .. beautiful composition.

  4. 4 Kishore

    Jax,
    You also write. The more the merrier.

    Arunima,
    Sure do.

    San,
    :)

  5. Wait a sec! I dont think the “AR Rahman Foundation link” has anything to do with THE A.R. Rahman!And the Video Rocks! Song– well..u can smell its a Rahman 3 miles away! Very predictable! Does he really say “Toote toote” in that song ? Thought i heard a hindi word in the completely english song!

  6. 6 Desigirl

    Y did your link to the ARR foundation take me to a link hell-bent on converting me to a mussalman?

  7. 7 Azad

    One should listen to vision the world. wht happening and where we are………………
    thanks to Rahman to engourge the people by universal language Music.

  8. 8 chhoton

    sweet composition

  9. 9 vimal

    iwant prey for me brother’s full lyric plz have u so sendme at my mail i want to sing this song and understend fully plz i wait for yor reply earlyr

  10. 10 vimal

    vimal_bhatt11@yahoo.com this is my address email

  11. 11 Akhil R P

    I Realy Like This Song & All The Song Of A R Rahman

  12. 12 Jayant Kalra

    Ultimate composition , i need lyrics for the song.

  13. 13 Senthilkumar ACS

    It’s an extraordinary composing……… I am a great fan of A.R.Rahman.

  14. 14 Unnikrishnan.P

    i was just searching for details on pray for me brother. really a must hear for everyone around the globe. no more words to tell u how it feels, just saying amazing creation. all are our brothers n sisters. i’d seen somebody asking for lyrics. so here it is….
    Pray For Me Brother (2007)
    Composed by A.R.Rahman
    Lyrics by Blaaze
    Singers: A.R.Rahman and Blaaze

    Pray for me brother
    Pray for me brother
    Pray for me sister
    Are you searchin’….
    Pray for me brother

    Lookin’ for the answers To all the questions In my life
    Will I be alone Will you be there By my side
    Is it something he said Is it something he did
    I wonder why He is searchin’ For the answers
    To stay alive

    Could you ever listen Could you ever care
    To speak your mind
    Only for a minute For only one moment
    In time

    The joy is around us But show me the love
    That we must find
    Are you searchin’ For a reason to be kind, to be kind…
    He said… Pray for me brother

    Pray for me brother Pray for me sister
    Pray for me brother Say
    what you wanna say now
    But keep your hearts open
    Be what you wanna be now
    Let’s heal the confusion
    Pray for me brother

    Don’t let me take When you don’t wanna give
    Don’t be afraid Just let me live
    Don’t let me take When you don’t wanna give
    Don’t be afraid Say what you wanna say now
    But keep your hearts open

    Be what you wanna be now Let’s heal the confusion
    Pray for me brother Pray for me brother
    I’m ashamed ah, brother be dying of poverty
    when he down on his knees its only then he prays
    And it’s a shame ah, brother be dying of ignorance
    cos the world is a trip and everybody’s a hypocrite
    Need to stop ah , taking a look at the other
    I’m not ashamed of poverty
    need to be making his life better
    So think about it, think about it once more
    cos life is a blessing and it’s not justa show, ah
    Round and round the world is spinning around

    We need to be singing a prayer, we need to be singing it now
    Round and round the world is turning around
    We need to be singing a prayer, we need to be singing it now
    Need to be feeling the power, need to be feeling the faith
    We need to coming together just to win this race

    Need to be feeling the power, need to be feeling the faith
    We need to coming together just to win this race (twice)
    Are you searching for a reason to be kind ?
    ___________________________________________

    sing along… spread it all over the world…havfe peace among ur brothers n sisters…. lets help them all…. pray for them….

    all ur comments are welcome at unnikrishnanp201@rediffmail.com

  15. 15 reema chaurasia

    i hve heard this song…. its really very toching….

  16. 16 Ashok

    Awesome lyrics.A.R set a new trend in the world music floor..

  17. 17 Ashok

    And Thanks to Unnikrishnan for the lyrics..

  18. 18 ajwath fassy

    pleace send me a.r rahmans one love albam and pray for me brother

  19. 19 rahul narsikar

    the song is fabolous,and the song u compose is to make the gud
    relation between brother’s &sister’s.

    thank’s for this rahman.

    frm:RAHUL.N

  20. 20 kumar Nanduri

    It shows the oneship of the universe. pain,sorrow,suffering have no boarders. All the universe is same. Hats of ARR

  21. 21 dilli babu.R.M

    basically i was die heart fan of AR Rahman,am not interest to listen english song, just i heard dis in SSmusic bcoz of AR Rahman had done this, but this song was very much impressed me feel very enthu……….am very much proved to b an tamilan bcoz of rahman

  22. i like this song very much..

  23. 23 abhijit chatterjee

    I was die heart fan of AR Rahman,am not interest to listen english song, just i heard dis in SSmusic bcoz of AR Rahman had done this, but this song was very much impressed me feel very enthu……….am very much proved to b an tamilan bcoz of rahman
    pleace send me a.r rahmans one love albam and pray for me brother
    I Realy Like This Song & All The Song Of A R Rahman

  24. 24 kiran shinde

    i am very big fan of a.r.rehman. and prey for me brother is one of best song of a.r.rehman.i love this song very much

  25. 25 shreya

    i like the song a lot .though it’s an old song but then also it gains a lot of importance in hollywood


  1. 1 Trivial beginnings
  2. 2 pirater un compte facebook comment 柠marche

Leave a Reply

