Another Inconsequential Day…

29Jan07

Remember those first few seconds after you were born? That’s when the world dissolves from that hysteric haze into a pattern of familiar real world entities. And when I woke up this morning, it felt just like that. The images around me dissolving and merging in the first few seconds of opening my eyes, until I was able to recognize the familiar patterns that were my room.

My eyes slowly digested the figures of my laptop and a copy of The Satanic Verses lying next to me. But I did not reach out for the book, as I would normally have done, despite the urge to open page 21 and read what happens after – He was a kindly man, which he disguised with insults and noise – which was the last line I read before falling asleep. So unlike me.

Aren’t clichés very soothing? You know everything about it, all very predictable and feeling so comfortable doing the same familiar things everyday. But when someday, you choose to skip them – like I did, by not reaching out for the book – that could very well be a sign of complete exhaustion, having been awfully sleep deprived, working four straight weeks, including weekends.

A few minutes later I did reach out for the book, but only so much as to keep my palm over its shiny cover. That felt better. Like I was seeking refuge in fiction because reality was a bit difficult to handle. Then I went over to make myself a cup of coffee and sat with my laptop to find out what the world was up to while I was fast asleep.

The Breaking News. First News, Abhishek and Aishwarya are engaged. I thought they did that many days back. Seems a long running engagement. Second News, Shilpa Shetty and her Big Brother problem.  It’s called Racism goddamnit. You better agree, or refuse to disagree. But stop kidding around bragging about the rights and the wrongs of Shilpa Shetty. She is a victim, not a placard for politico-media-money-making. Third News, I left my clothes in the drier – oh, that was the automatic mental reminder breaking the news to me after a dose of caffeine activated my system.

I dropped the glass in the sink, wiped my hands and moved the blinds aside to peep out of the window. The ground was covered under a shiny sheet of white snow. It was white all over – the overcast sky, the leafless trees, the neighborhood, the roofs, the cars, the pavement, the road – with the footprints of those who had walked over the snow. Does the story of Footprints in the sand apply to Footprints in the snow, as well?

Salman Rushdie might have an answer. Who better can answer such a queer question? And so, I came back to my room, made myself comfortable on my bed, picked up The Satanic Verses and turned to page 21. There is something very soothing about clichés.

4 Responses to “Another Inconsequential Day…”

  1. 1. Good one … I liked the super usage of language … “when the world dissolves from that hysteric haze into a pattern of familiar real world entities” … Wow !
    2. Disagree … Shilpa Shetty was not a victim in anyway … she got Rs. 3 crore, she eventually won “Celebrity BB” … and she got the publicity that all her films combined could not have given her :-)
    3. Your line “I left my clothes in the drier” reminded me that I have to put my clothes in the washer :-)

  2. If, with an inconsequential day, u create such magic words… I can imagine :)

  3. 3 Kishore

    Taks,
    Money and celebrity status don’t entail racism, do they?

    Srividya,
    Thanks. You’re very kind. :)

  4. Nope, they don’t. But, on the other hand, I was just looking at all the positive publicity and work offers that she garnered from all this. And later, I believe, she even went on to say that nothing racist happened in the show !
    Hmm, I suppose strange are the ways of the celebrities :-)


Leave a Reply

