Monday morning smiles…

16Oct06

This week’s Monday morning smiles theme is City. A queer little encounter with a delivery guy at a Dominos outlet in Chennai made me wonder how different a response I would have got in a similar situation in Bangalore. The Bangalore part is fiction, while the Chennai part is what actually happened.

Bangalore
I walk into the Dominos outlet and tell the delivery guy “Garlic Cheese Bread please”.
“Would you like a Garlic Cheese Bread or Garlic Cheese Toastie?” he asks.
“What’s the difference?”
“The Bread is plain with four slices to a plate, Toastie is toasted bread with six slices to a plate.”
“Make it a Toastie then.”
“Sure.”

Chennai
I walk into the Dominos outlet and tell the delivery guy “Garlic Cheese Bread please”.
“Would you like a Garlic Cheese Bread or Garlic Cheese Toastie?” he asks.
“What’s the difference?”
“Five rupees.”
“Eh?”

13 Responses to “Monday morning smiles…”

  1. heeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee :)
    you are hereby accused of making me hungry morning morning

  2. Good one. :-)

  3. 3 Adora Belle

    Dominos? What happened to Pizza Hut?

  4. Damn,whoever asked me to read monday morning smiles at one AM on Tuesday,i ended up waking up hubby with my loud laughing;p
    Atlast Dayswork goes to my fav links:)

  5. 5 Kangannaru

    Ha Ha …. This reminds me of a similar situation(w.r.t to cost of food).4/5 Years ago I had gone into a posh restaurant near my house after heavy binging on a sunday afternoon. I looked like a mechanic with all those dishevelled hair,bad clothes and blood shot eyes.Whatever food i asked used to come with a “That’s 60Rs, that’s 90Rs” etc. etc.Then i opened my purse and showed him some wad of notes and told him i will make a bill of 1000 here and will leave u no tips and i did that.

  6. 6 Adora Belle

    :)

    ((((Hugs for Kishore))))

  7. 7 Kishore

    Prat,
    Here’s a tasty Bamboo shoot to make your day.. :)

    Pradeep,
    Thanks.

    Adora,
    We dont have no Pizza Hut at our office.

    Alapana,
    It took you so long? :)

    Kangannaru.,
    Thats peanuts, huh?
    Thanks for dropping by, and sharing.

  8. 8 Adora Belle

    What’s that? No, Pizza Hut??? **Gasp**!! :) Da, Are you serious? lol (I just like typing the word “da”.) It’s funny. Crap. Running late. Salaam.

  9. 9 DG

    There you go, dissing my city again! I shall have to tell them at the TN border to prevent you from entering the state again!

  10. >>There you go, dissing my city again!
    DG, dont worry. For me this dissing sounds synonymous to Kushwant singh’s Sardar Ji jokes, in which Sardars are portrayed as dumb dumber and dumbest… whereas Sardars are in fact most successful men in business, warfare, and so on. :)

  11. 11 DG

    Mahen,
    Hmmmm, you do have a point. Shall let this bloke escape this once then!

  12. hahahahhaha.
    I can relate to this as i have similar experiences in the 2 cities.

  13. 13 Kishore

    Adora,
    No Pizza hut at our workplace, it there elsewhere in the city though.

    DG, Mahen,
    Er, whatever makes you happy.. :)

    Usha,
    :)


Leave a Reply

