Cries From A Grave

17Jul06

Dedicated to all those who lost their lives in the Mumbai Blasts. 

I would smear my hair
Saffron, white and green
and whistle
every time India won.
Just like you.

I would stand
long queues
to the first show
of every new movie.
Just like you.

I would run
from my math lessons
and the spanking
from my dear father.
Just like you.

I would break
every glass window
Slamming sixers
on our muddy streets.
Just like you.
*

But this day,
Kind One,
I lie thoughtful
Of my unknown days
and unremembered deeds
Of my little thrills
and nameless acts
Of the desolate journey
that beckons me

As I swoon
in perpetual trance
Choking
in my own breath
Bathing
in my own blood
Splintered petals
caressing my wounds

I stare
with sinking eyes
at the sudden stillness
This rapidly engulfing peace
dragging me into its fold
as I slip into a sleep.

I rest
under the spotless moon
beneath the sheath of warm air
in a blaring silence
shrill and still.
Still, as death.

In death do I pray,
Living One,
That I forfeited mine
So you may live yours.
*

Sing not
a mournful eulogy
until you hear the sniffles
of my mother’s
dry tear

Feel not
an ounce of pity
If you do not know
the language of my grief

Cry not
a tear on my grave
If you do not understand
the meaning of my death

For under this grave
is Me – the unborn.
Stolen of the joys
of seeing this world
Robbed of the bliss
of my mother’s kiss
Stripped of the delight
of playing street cricket
Deprived of the pleasure
of living a life.

And To You
Fortunate Reader,
I bequeath
All the Joys
Of my Unlived Life.

30 Responses to “Cries From A Grave”

  1. 1 prat

    “..Cry not
    a tear on my grave
    If you do not understand
    the meaning of my death..”
    Kishore, the piece was nothing less than stunning. It turned out more beautiful than I thought it would be.
    And its beauty lies in how effortlessly you have strung so many elements of pain together.

  2. 2 Jax

    And To You
    Fortunate Reader,
    I bequeath

    Now where have I seen this before?…. :-)

  3. 3 sangeeta

    very beautiful – may i link this on my blog?

  4. 4 mahen

    Jax, this is why I have been telling u not to read too much. See, your intertextuality is working well :)

    Blogs are indeed pouring out on Mumbai 7/11. Good!

  5. 5 Jax

    I wonder why everyone is talking only of Mumbai. I don’t see much posts on the blasts in Kashmir the same day. Maybe no one doesn’t give a damn about kashmir anymore?

  6. I dont understand something.. why are we more affected when something happens to people in our country? Is this not the same divisive individualism that moves the terrorist? How many times have we reacted so badly to something similar that happened in some other part of the world?

    The same violence that moves them, moves us. The violence of possessing boundaries, of possessing identities.

  7. 7 mahen

    Jax, That’s what will sell. Kashmir, nay… damn that business-somber state that never sells in the media. And hey, Mumbai blasts may get you more hits and traffic as well… ;-)

  8. Mahen you’re rudely sarcastic.. it is uncalled for.

  9. 9 Vidya

    no words .. well written poem !

  10. beautifully crafted. although it seems almost sacrilegous to comment on style now. i’m trying to say it hit where it should.thanks for writing it

  11. 11 Kishore

    Prat,
    Thanks. Hope it did convey the true emotions.

    San,
    Thanks hon.. ;)

    Phoenix,
    For 6 – Same reason why we feel more sad when something happens to someone in our family!
    For 8 – Gee.. thanks for that comment.

    Vidya,
    Thanks.

    Inkblot,
    Welcome inky. Thanks for your comment.

  12. 12 Kishore

    Jax, Mahen,
    Kiiiiiiddss… kiiiiiiiddss…. now stop fighting, go fetch that stick and sit in the corner.

  13. Well, Risenphoenix, thanks for joining the list of ppl who say that I am sarcastic :), I mean this time phoenix :) and this one is not sarcastic friend, the list is indeed quite a big one.

    BTW, am I not assertive ;-). Why did it sound sarcastic…?
    And BTW, isnt it true that this is what sells in the media?

    Kishore, Thanks’aa solra… hahaha… vachikkuren da unnai… Chennai pakkam vaaa… unakku irukku…

  14. 14 Kishore

    Mahen,
    Hee..hee.. chill dude… :)

  15. Mahen… you said something about traffic and hits..

    Kishore dont you worry.. Chennai is our Paettai! :p

  16. yes, hits and traffic determines what sells in this Internet media phoenix… isnt it?

    and Kishore, you are spotted. Mahen’s militia is ready to nab you anytime and bring you to Chennai… … your story ends in Chennai dude… Let me see how phoenix is gonna save you in my Chennai paettai.

  17. Do I smell a terrorist here? *sniff*

    Kishore …wondering what the hell is happening in your comments box?? :p

  18. You are right phoenix, Kishore, what’s happening in your comments box da? I too sniffed and found traces of paettai dons ;-)
    What’s happening man? :p

  19. 19 Vijay

    Mahen,
    I am with u da.. These people are only emotional.. They don’t understand what business means..

    Nee sonna mathiri adutha matha kalavarathila Kichanai mudichidalam… :)

  20. hahaha, Thanks Vijay. Kicha Chennai varattum, avanukku irukku… hahahaha

  21. 21 Kishore

    Phoenix, Mahen,
    >> what the hell is happening in your comments box

    Well, thats precisely what I’m wondering.

    Vijay,
    Na yaaru.. Na enge irukken…

  22. Stunning piece!beautifully written.glad I visited your blog.

  23. 23 Kishore

    Padma,
    Thanks. And Thanks for dropping by. :)

  24. Very touching… very well written. Will keep visiting your space for more :)

  25. 25 Kelly Perras

    Iˇll right away grasp your rss feed as I can not find your e-mail subscription link or e-newsletter service. Do you have any? Kindly let me recognize in order that I may just subscribe. Thanks.

  26. This post will help the internet visitors for
    creating new website or even a blog from start to end.

  27. Hi my family member! I wish to say that this post is awesome,
    nice written and include approximately all vital infos.
    I’d like to see more posts like this .

  28. Thank you for any other magnificent article. Where
    else could anyone get that kind of info in such an ideal
    approach of writing? I’ve a presentation next week, and I am on the search for such info.

  29. original designs, many of them free of charge for download at http://scarab13.com.


  1. 1 Watch design and Nautilus fans, a great man passed away! – (0 Replies) | I love Watches!

Leave a Reply

