For my dad…

25Apr06

A gentle wind sweeps past me
and sings into my ears
tales of the kind time
of those joyful years
of you and me.

of tender strokes to my cheek
waking me every morning

    of your breath over my wound
    healing me for the moment

of the tight hugs
bringing sleep to my sullen eyes

    of kisses to my forehead
    blessing me away to school

of the tata through the window pane
rendering my eyes moist
unable to let go of your warmth

    of your grasping my tiny hand
    walking down the lanes with you

of your bent knees
that I slept over
my head resting safe over

    of my innocent smile
    every time I called u appa

of the day I thought
I would once be your height
to talk all that you talk
to do all that you do
to be the man that you are
just as you are.
And little did I think
that day was never meant to be

My eyes have bloated
with dried out tears
of unspoken words
still speaking aloud
Buried memories
still alive, and still guiding.
Miss you dad.

A gentle wind sweeps past me
and sings into my ears
tales of the kind time
of those joyful years
of you and me.

My dad would have turned 56 today.

10 Responses to “For my dad…”

  1. 1 Vidya

    Touching poem . My eyes are moist :o(

  2. 2 Vidya

    Touching poem . My eyes are moist :(

  3. 3 sangeeta

    yeah moist eyes here too

    and he would be very proud of such a smart child :)

  4. No words to console Kicha.

  5. 5 usha

    very touching Kishore.
    I am sure he is looking at you from somewhere and feeling proud and smiling.

  6. Wonderfully written!!!

  7. 7 prat

    Kicha
    I wish he was around for you.
    But as Bach says, maybe he is some place where he is flying free and happy.
    I am sure he is extremely proud of you.
    God bless.

  8. Absolutely beautiful!

  9. 9 N

    Beautiful thoughts. Sorry to know this…

  10. 10 Amala

    Your poem is beautiful. I felt very strange reading it. I am fighting cancer. And I have a little boy. How old were you when your father died?


Leave a Reply

